I need a vacation.

Like, really really bad.

I’m beyond burned out. It feels kind of like depression, but it’s not, because if I spend a whole day sleeping I actually feel better afterwards. I keep starting things and then stopping them because I don’t have the energy to see them through. I don’t even have the energy to be effectively angry about the AHCA and all the other garbage the GOP is inflicting, or trying to inflict, on us.

Half the time I can’t remember what I’m doing. I know I’ve done some hilariously silly things lately – of the putting your keys in the refrigerator variety – but I can’t remember the specifics of what I did. So that’s not very funny.

What I know I’ve been doing – taking Monkey to doctor’s appointments and therapy and school evaluations, making complaints to the school district, scheduling more appointments, rescheduling them, grocery shopping and cooking (why do our bodies require so food so frequently? WHY???), deep cleaning the apartment (I seriously need a maid – I can pay exactly $0 per hour, anyone interested?) and of course making sure Monkey is washed, fed, medicated, clothed, intellectually stimulated etc. He just got his first pair of eye glasses, which look incredibly cute on him. We had a last-minute trip to the pediatrician today to try to decipher this cough he’s had for a while – to figure out which of his conditions might be causing it and whether it’s a serious one or not so much. He’s got a sedated MRI coming up. I can do all that stuff, I just have nothing left over. I’ve been dealing with my own health issues as well.

Fortunately, Monkey and his dad and I are going on a trip, very soon, to visit family. This means that for a while someone else will prepare my food and play with my child. It’s going to be fantastic. Maybe when I get back, I’ll have the mental energy to write a blog post about something other than how tired I am.

In the meantime, if you’re reading this and you DO have energy, PLEASE tell everyone you know how horrible the AHCA is. I’m not sure why the GOP is so determined to deprive kids like my son of decent medical care by segregating them into under-funded “high risk” pools; I suspect it has something to do with those big corporate tax cuts they’re handing out. Whatever the motivation, it’s not OK. It’s evil, actually.

So tell your senators, especially if they’re moderate Republicans. Yell at them for me, because I’m too tired right now to yell.

Leave a Reply

